This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. For information please read our Privacy Policy.

Alumni Athletes & Awards

The Sacred Heart Schools, Atherton (SHS) Alumni Office is pleased to offer the following awards to honor and recognize our alumni and community members. Click on the award below for more information. Please contact the Alumni Office with any questions.

List of 3 items.

  • Spirit of Mater Award

    The Spirit of Mater recognizes alumni who radiate Mater's spark of divine spirit and who employ life in a manner representative of the Sacred Heart Schools, AthertonGoals and Criteria. Schools of the Sacred Heart commit themselves to educate to:
    1. A personal and active faith in God.
    2. A deep respect for intellectual values.
    3. A social awareness which impels to action.
    4. The building of community as a Christian value.
    5. Personal growth in an atmosphere of wise freedom.


    #1 Eligible nominees must have attended one of Sacred Heart Preparatory, St. Joseph's School, Convent of the Sacred Heart, Sacred Heart Menlo, College at Menlo, or Sacred Heart Elementary.

    #2 - Anyone is eligible to nominate a candidate or his/herself for the Spirit of Mater. Nominees are reviewed by the Alumni Association Board and the final award recipients are approved by the Director of Schools.

    #3 - Persons who have contributed significantly to their: alma mater, profession, or community. These individuals will exemplify a quality of character worthy of being role models for present, past and future Sacred Heart students.

    2018 - Whitney (Glockner) Black (SJS `88, SHP `92)
    2017 - Sheila McLaughlin Burke (CSH '74)
    2016 - Leana Giannini (CSH '75)
    2015 - Mary "Be" Mardel, RSCJ (CSH '35)
    2014 - Jen O'Neal (SJSH '93, SHP '97)
    2013 - Kathy Keogh Berra (CSH '63)
    2012 - Carmen Arellano Lee (CSH '54)
    Nancy Sullivan Stretch (CSH '57)
    2011 - Ashley Pritchard (SHP ’05)
    Sara Merryman (SHE ’57, CSH ’61)
    2010 - Yvonne Pometti, RSCJ
    Fr. Rob Van Alstyne
    2008 - Irene Cullen, RSCJ
    Melissa Pritchard
    Johnny Dorsey
  • St. Joseph’s School Henry Schimpf Award

    This award is presented in honor of the late Henry Schimpf to recognize selfless service contributions, commitment and dedication within the elementary school community (formerly known as St. Joseph's School). Henry touched and improved the lives of thousands of Bay Area residents during his many years of service to the Sacred Heart and St. Joseph's campus. He is remembered as someone who embodied the very kind of patient, humble, and selfless teaching methods we should all aspire to practice in our daily lives.

    St. Joseph’s School (SJS) alumni and coaches, administrators, faculty, staff, and RSCJ who worked at St. Joseph’s School for a minimum of ten years are eligible for this award.

    NOMINATIONS NOW OPEN. Please submit candidate's full name, class year if applicable, affiliation to school, and rationale for award consideration via email to alumni@shschools.org.

    Past Recipients
    2018 - Nancy Blears
    2015 - Michael Murphy ✞ (posthumously awarded)
    2014 - Joan Eagleson
    2013 - Jeff Reynolds
    2012 - Ken Walsh
  • Sacred Heart Prep Athletic Hall of Fame

    Established in 2011, the SHP Hall of Fame recognizes individuals with significant achievement in his/her sport at the high school, collegiate, or professional/amateur level. Inductees exemplify the principles of sportsmanship and Christianity as illustrated in the Goals and Criteria of Sacred Heart Schools in addition to athletic achievements.

    As of 2019, SHP Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees are determined by Sacred Heart Preparatory (SHP) Athletics.

    2018 - Lauren (Boyle) Berman (SHP `07) Lacrosse, Erik Blumenkranz (SHP `08) Tennis, KK Clark (SHP `08) Water Polo, Haley Hemm (SJS `04, SHP `08) Tennis
    2017 - John Blanchard (SHP `95) Basketball, Mirza Klis (SHP `07) Tennis, Samantha Rosekrans (SHP `07) Tennis and Adriana Vogt (SHP `07) Water Polo
    2016 - Pat Coffey (SHP `06): Basketball and Football, Wendy Quattlebaum (SHP `93): Basketball and Hudson Smythe (SHP `05): Baseball and Football
    2015 - Aziz Sayigh (SJS '99, SHP '03): Football, Baseball, Track
    2013 - Mike Ciardella: Coach, Women's Basketball
    Kelly Crowley (SHP '95): Paralympic Medalist, Cycling
    2012 - Sean Cole (SHP '92): Soccer, Baseball
    Trevor Schaffer (SJS '88, SHP ’92): Soccer, Baseball, Basketball
    Denise Sheldon (SJS '93, SHP '97): Volleyball
    2011 - Colette Chiamparino (SJS ’86, SHP ’90): Basketball
    Jenny Circle (SHP ’95): Basketball
    Alexis Felts (SHP ’94): Basketball
    Shawna Franceschini (SHP ’94): Basketball
    Christy Galvin✞(SHP ’97): Volleyball
    Dane Holderman (SHP ’00): Basketball
    Tyler Holland (SHP ’04): Basketball, Football
    Kobié Kennon (SHP ’95): Basketball
    Elizabeth Rizzo Covey (SHP ’93): Basketball
    Renee Robinson (SHP ’96): Basketball

Past Winners


Whitney Glockner Black (SJS '88, SHP '92) and Richard A. Dioli, SHS Director of Schools


L to R: Richard A. Dioli, SHS Director of Schools with Haley Hemm (SJS '04, SHP '08), KK Clark (SHP '08), Lauren Boyle Berman (SHP '07) and Erik Blumenkranz (SHP '08)


Nancy Blears, retired SJS/SHS Faculty and Richard A. Dioli, SHS Director of Schools

Alumni & PALs Contact

List of 1 members.

  • Photo of Shannon Melinauskas

    Shannon Melinauskas 

    Manager, Alumni & Past Parent Engagement
Founded by the Society of the Sacred Heart, SHS is a Catholic, independent, co-ed day school for students in preschool through grade 12